The Work of Jesus of Nazareth – From Scripture

Christ’s State of Humiliation

In Christ’s earthly ministry, Jesus entered into his state of humiliation. 

Humiliation here is not referring to being reduced to a lower position against his will, or being embarrassed or shamed.  Humiliation is referring to Jesus’ willful lowering of status, power, and glory in order to serve humanity.  This lowering did not in anyway reduce or take away from his divine nature.  If it did, then he would cease to be true God.  Instead, he voluntarily chose not to make use of his divine attributes or to receive the glory that is rightfully his. 

The state of humiliation is expressed in Philippians 2:4-8:

“Let each of you look not only to his own interests, but also to the interests of others. Have this mind among yourselves, which is yours in Christ Jesus, who, though he was in the form of God, did not count equality with God a thing to be grasped, but emptied himself, by taking the form of a servant, being born in the likeness of men. And being found in human form, he humbled himself by becoming obedient to the point of death, even death on a cross.”

When did Christ’s state of humiliation begin and when did it end? Or is he still in this state due to his human nature?                                                                                                                                                                                              

How is the state of humiliation necessary for our salvation? 

Christ’s State of Exaltation

In Christ’s state of exaltation, Jesus resumes his full and restricted use of his divine attributes and glory. 

The state of exaltation is expressed in Philippians 2:9-11:

“Therefore God has highly exalted him and bestowed on him the name that is above every name, 10 so that at the name of Jesus every knee should bow, in heaven and on earth and under the earth, 11 and every tongue confess that Jesus Christ is Lord, to the glory of God the Father.”

When did Christ’s state of exaltation begin and when does it end?

In his state of exaltation began, did Jesus relinquish or lose his humanity? 

What is the significance of the state of exaltation? 

The Office of Christ

Office – “A position of authority or service, typically one of a public nature.”

What does Matthew 1:21 say about Jesus’ official work or service? 

Christ is Jesus’ official title.  Christ means “anointed one”.  Messiah also means “anointed one”.

How was Jesus anointed?  See Acts 10:38. 

In the Old Testament, prophets, priests, and kings were anointed (oil was poured on their head). The anointing was a symbolic act to demonstrate that God had chosen them for their particular office of duty and authority.  

Jesus’ office of the Anointed One can be broken into all three of the offices of anointing found in the Old Testament: prophet, priest and king.  In all three offices, Jesus of Nazareth is above all others who have ever served.  He is the Prophet of Prophets, the Priest of Priests, and the King of Kings. 

Prophet of Prophets

A prophet brings the word of God to human beings as God’s representative.  This is not just limited to predicting the future.  

John 17:6-8 – What does Jesus bring to us? 

Hebrews 1:1-3 – How has God spoken to us?  In what way is Jesus the superior spokesman for God? 

John 1:18 – What makes Jesus’ message so unique from that of other prophets?

Isaiah 6:5 – In what way is Jesus’ words superior to that of other prophets? 

John 14:12 – How is Jesus’ proclamation different from that of other prophets when dropping Word of God truth bombs? 

Priest of Priests

A priest is one who makes intercession between God and man, usually through offering sacrifices or other religious rituals. 

How do the following verses reflect Jesus’ office of priest?

Hebrews 7:25Romans 3:25
Romans 8:3John 1:29

Hebrews 7:22-28 lists 10 reasons why Jesus is superior to all other priests:

  1. Jesus is the high priest who guarantees a better contract with God.  (vs. 22)

  2. Jesus is the high priest who cannot be stopped by death. (vs. 23-24)

  3. Jesus is the high priest who never leaves office. (vs. 24) 
  • Jesus is the high priest who saves to the uttermost those who trust in him.  (vs. 25)
  • Jesus is the high priest who always makes intercession for you.  (vs. 25)
  • Jesus is the high priest who is holy, innocent, unstained, separated from sinners, and exalted above the heavens. (vs. 26)
  • Jesus is the high priest who does not need to offer sacrifices daily.  (vs. 27)
  • Jesus is the high priest who does not need to offer sacrifices for his own sins.  (vs. 27)
  • Jesus is the high priest who sacrifices himself once for all.  (vs. 27)
  1. Jesus is the high priest who is appointed by God’s promise as a Son, who has been made perfect forever.  (vs. 28) 

What sins did Jesus’ sacrifice absolve?  See John 1:29, John 3:16-17, 1 John 2:2, Hebrews 2:9, Romans 5:18, 2 Corinthians 5:14-15, John 12:32, and 2 Peter 2:1. 

Priests were from the tribe of Levi!  But Jesus was from the tribe of Judah.  How could Jesus be a priest?

See the Melchizedek thread through Scripture: Genesis 14:18-20, Psalm 110:4, and Hebrews 5:4-10. 

King of Kings

Biblical prophesy says that the Christ would be a king from the royal line of David who would reign forever.  See 2 Samuel 7:12-13 and Isaiah 9:6-7.

When was Jesus’ kingship first recognized by people?  See Matthew 2:2. 

Others recognized his kingship later in his earthly ministry.  See Matthew 21:9. 

Who does Jesus say he is the king of? See Luke 23:3. 

Yet what does Jesus say about his kingdom?  See John 18:36. 

What else does Scripture say about Jesus’ kingship and kingdom?  See Revelation 17:14 and 2 Peter 1:11. 

Jesus’ reign has been recognized to a rule over three distinct kingdoms: the kingdom of power, the kingdom of grace, and the kingdom of glory. 

Kingdom of Power

This is Jesus’ rule over all of creation.  See Matthew 28:18 and Ephesians 1:22.   All governments have been established by God and are subject to Christ their maker and Jesus works through these systems of authority to limit and restrict sin and wickedness.  See Romans 13.

Christ provides for all through the natural order he has created in the universe.  See Matthew 5:45. 

Everyone is a member of this kingdom! 

Kingdom of Grace

Members of this kingdom is limited to those who belong to the Church. 

This kingdom is called the “Kingdom of Heaven” or the “Kingdom of God” in Scripture.  See Matthew 13:44-45 and Mark 10:15. 

Those who are members of this kingdom are now citizens of this kingdom!  See Ephesians 2:19. 

We enter into this kingdom through the grace of God received by faith in Christ, hence the name, Kingdom of Grace. 

Kingdom of Glory

The Kingdom of Glory refers to Jesus’ majestic and eternal reign in heaven.  Jesus has a heavenly kingdom and he will take us there.  See 2 Timothy 4:18. 

This kingdom will be manifest on earth when he returns to judge the nations.  See Matthew 25:31. 

Jesus is already reigning in the Kingdom of Glory.  Who is present in this kingdom now? 

All three of these offices: prophet, priest, and king, are expressed in Jesus work of salvation!

Published by

Andy Wrasman

I live in Lilburn, GA, with my wife and two young kids. I am a pastor at Oak Road Lutheran Church. I've written a book called, Contradict - They Can't All Be True. Be sure to visit my other website:

One thought on “The Work of Jesus of Nazareth – From Scripture

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s